Mar y Sol Restaurante, Chipipe

A few times recently while out for our walk we have stopped to have a quick lunch at Mar y Sol – of course I either forgot to take pictures or didn’t have my camera with me. But last week I had the camera and remembered to take pictures.

It is a little restaurant at the end of the street directly across from the Catholic church as you first enter Chipipe.

On the other occasions that we have eaten almurzo at Mar y Sol this lovely woman has made a seafood soup that was overflowing with crab, mussels, calamari, fish and shrimp. I cannot praise the seafood soup enough. To see a bowl-full of seafood excellently prepared and as fresh as can be, in a $2 meal, well, I was flabbergasted. Today the soup was Fresh Queso (cheese) with beef, a substantial first course.

The segundo (second course or entrée) was two fillets of corvina (seabass) lightly battered and fried, with a side of rice, patacones and a green salad. This meal comes with a glass of fresh juice which was a tart lime. This is one of the places that serves your soup course first and gives you time to eat that before you entrée arrives to the table.

Just another eating adventure – I know is sounds like all we do is eat but why cook for two people? The shopping, preparation, actual cooking and then to clean up — I can’t possibly do that for $2 a meal… yes, I am retired but still my time could be better used walking the beach, snoozing in my hammock or reading Dirk Pitt novels…

One thought on “Mar y Sol Restaurante, Chipipe

  1. Pingback: Morning Update – Monday, December 13, 2010 « South of Zero

Leave a Reply

