Five-Minute Artisan Bread from scratch

In our travels around Panama and now Ecuador I have been unhappy with the supermarket breads. Supan is much better than Bimbo (Panama) but it still has much to be desired and the fresh store made breads at Super Maxi are darn expensive, if you ask me. So I have decided to bake my own bread. Several months ago our son-in-law, Isaac, told me about an easy artisan bread recipe that he bakes. He kindly gave me the recipe and I have made it at least five times since. My first attempt was a beautiful loaf made with just white flour but then I decided to try using part whole grain flour and the loaves started to turn out flat – spreading out on the cookie sheet to an abnormal shape. Think giant fat cookie. The flavor is wonderful but the shape was just too odd for me.

This is what it should look like but each attempt brought me yet another “flat bread”.

This morning I stopped fooling around and put the dough in a loaf pan that I had greased and sprinkled with corn meal. This beautiful loaf just came out of the oven.

It’s not free flowing like an artisan bread, that’s okay by me. I can now make Joe sandwiches whenever he wants, and isn’t that what truly matters!

The recipe can be found at this link:  (I substituted 1 to 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour for the same amount of white flour called for in this recipe.)

http://www.foodess.com/2009/03/artisan-bread-in-five-minutes/

And this is a YouTube video by  Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois who came up with the recipe:

17 thoughts on “Five-Minute Artisan Bread from scratch

    • Hi Mike, links to the recipe and a bonus the YouTube video instructions should be in your email now. Please let me know how it worked out for you, Nancy

  1. Nancy:

    I have enjoyed your blog – your bread looks great – could you please share the recipe with me.

    Also in reading a previous post about making the Aji – could you also share this recipe with me also.

    Thanks a lot

    Best regards,

    Deborah

    • Hi Deborah, I will send both recipes to your email address in a few minutes. Thanks for reading about our adventure. Nancy

  2. Pingback: Morning Update – Wednesday, July 27, 2011 « South of Zero

Leave a Reply

