Sunrise in Salinas

Just too breathtaking not to share. Have a blessed day!

21 thoughts on “Sunrise in Salinas

  1. Nancy,
    It is breath taking. Thank you so much for sharing.
    I dream of the day that my hisband and I will be able to see this too.
    Perhaps next summer. We are working hard at having our house all paid up first. We are almost there!

    Meanwhile, I enjoy reading your blog. what a life!!!

    • Chantal, thanks for reading our blog. Most mornings during this time of year it is overcast so this was a beautiful site to see this morning. Have a great day!

  2. Nancy, I’ve been looking at a lot of pictures of the coast lately. I’m happy where I am but I think next year I may want to move out there.

  3. This is only one of the reasons why I bought a condo there just a couple weeks ago. We have traveled to a lot of countries but we considered only Salinas for our retirement home (although the condo is still under construction)

    • Rolie, Most days this time of the year we have little sun but yesterday it was perfect. Joe and I spend most of the afternoon sitting under an umbrella just watching people and of course the water. It was great, I think you will love it here when you move. Congratulations on your purchase!

    • Rolie,

      Would your purchase happen to be in the Aquamira building? My wife and I are purchasing there in 2 weeks. We currently have a deposit on one of the units.

      Nancy,

      We are looking forward to our return trip to Salinas. We will see you in 2 weeks.

      Ken and Cindi White

  4. Pingback: Morning Update – Friday, July 29, 2011 « South of Zero

    • Chantal – not sure what is available as there are no multi-listings here so you need to talk to some of the realtors. Seems that there are always signs on the balconies for both rent and sale. Looks like some folks don’t use realtor. But I do see folks coming and going so someone is renting units and it looks like it could be short term as little as a week.

  5. Mary and I really enjoy your Blog. We can’t wait until we come back down again in Jan. to enjoy the Salinas area again! Hopefully we can meet you this time.

    Dennis

  6. Beautiful picture, but I am confused about the direction – I thought one could only see sunsets over the Pacific since the sun rises in the east and sets in the west, and Ecuador doesn’t have an eastern coastline on the Atlantic. Could you be somehow facing east with land on the other side of that stretch of water?

    • Hi Colleen-salinas is on a peninsula – like a finger that juts out into the pacific in a gentle curve. Its kind of like living on an island, water almost all around. Our front balcony faces towards northeast over the pacific back up the coast of ecuador. Our back balcony faces southwest, again, over the pacific. I guess like Hawaii that would have both sunrises and sunsets over the pacific, depending on where you were exactly. I’ll post a map on the blog that shows this.

    • Hi Marson – this is how I answered Colleen’s question regarding having both sunrises and sunsets. Salinas is on a peninsula – like a finger that juts out into the pacific in a gentle curve. Its kind of like living on an island, water almost all around. Our front balcony faces towards northeast over the pacific back up the coast of ecuador. Our back balcony faces southwest, again, over the pacific. I guess like Hawaii that would have both sunrises and sunsets over the pacific, depending on where you were exactly. I’ll post a map on the blog that shows this.

Leave a Reply

