Cindi and Ken’s second visit to Salinas

I met Cindi and Ken back in May when they had visited Salinas for the first time.  Actually they must have fallen in love with this town as they are back to sign the paperwork for a condo on the malecon.  This time they brought Jeff with them to enjoy a few days of whale watching and Expat gatherings.

Ken, Cindi and Jeff

They also came bearing gifts – Twizzlers and Good and Plenty candies that I have not seen here along with spices that will make my culinary adventures attainable. Thanks again for making my day with these great treats.

We hope you enjoy your remaining time here and, now that you are property owners, I’m sure we will be seeing you back in town often.

7 thoughts on “Cindi and Ken’s second visit to Salinas

    • Mike, I have been messing around with the recipe. I replaced one cup of white flour with one cup of multi-grain flour (harina integral is the name here) and it came out way to sticky inside, the crust was fabulous crusty and crispy but inside was a bit almost mushy. Then I tried using 1/2 cup of wheat germ in place of 1/2 of white flour and it works much better. Also, I started adding 1 1/2 tablespoons of regular sugar to the entire batch and my yeast works better giving me a higher bread with more air holes inside. We are now totally off store bought bread and use this recipe and one I have for French bread from Julia Child only. I make a fresh small loaf almost every day and it is just enough for us and because the dough can last up to two weeks in the refrigerator I always have a loosely covered bowl with dough ready to be popped into the oven. I am now using it for brochette when I have not made the French loaves. It is working out great. Thanks for your comment!

    • Chantal, Cindi and Ken are so sweet, it is so nice to see young people planning their futures in Ecuador. Not that Joe and I are totally antiques yet but having young folks around keeps us young as well.

  1. Pingback: Morning Update – Tuesday, August 16, 2011 « South of Zero

  2. Nancy,

    It was great to see you again and we are very happy that you enjoyed your “goodies”. We will be back soon.

    Ken and Cindi

Leave a Reply

