First Aid for my Coconut Palms

For months I continued to procrastinate on re-potting my two coconut palms. The pots I had them in were just a tiny bit bigger than the actually coconut and when I potted them I knew it was a mistake, but they survived. This week I purchased huge rubber pots and finally moved them. The pots were inexpensive at $7 a piece. I came across a man behind the mercado with a small plant stand who also sells potting soil. It is the lightest potting soil I have ever seen. Mostly ground leaves, not twigs or pine cones like some that I have purchased in the past. A 40 lb feed sack was $3. I could not resist purchasing four herb plants including two types of basil, local oregano and mint. Before the afternoon was over I had re-potted the two palms, one flowing vine (that I am not sure is going to make it) and all four herb plants.

And while I was at the store that sells plastic items I found one of those wooden beach chairs that Joe loves so. When I delivered it to Joe you would have thought I had given him a million dollars. We do have simple tastes these days and the smallest kindness goes a long way.

My plants actually looked better in just a few days. It is not necessary to plant herbs here as fresh herbs are very inexpensive and plentiful at the mercado as well as the grocery stores but having my own mint in the back yard whenever I want to make a mojito or add a few leaves to a  salad really makes me happy.

Adding to my plant treasure my friend Miguel came by a few days ago with four hot pepper plants.

Now I will allow the palm trees to settle in and then I will fertilize the heck out of them to see what they really can do…

3 thoughts on “First Aid for my Coconut Palms

  1. Pingback: Morning Update – Wednesday, October 12, 2011 « South of Zero

    • Hi Steven – Thanks for your comment – I have seen fresh herbs in every mercado I have been to in Ecuador including Puerto Lopez which they call Centro instead of Mercado, Salinas mercado has herbs at some of the vendors, and the one in Libertad, even had a Herb Lady who you would explain what your ailment was and she would find the correct herb for you and then explain how to prepare it for use. Then most of the vegetable vendors at a minimum carry cilantro and basil, others would have camomile. Are you living in Ecuador currently?

Leave a Reply

