Pangora (Stone Crab Claws)

Today I was happy to find fresh pangora (stone crab) claws in the Mercado.  This is one of the items that is not always available and when it is I jump at the chance to buy a few pounds.

These were probably the biggest I have seen here. We just love stone crab claws and with my homemade version of Joe’s Stone Crab dipping sauce from South Florida we will be having a great time this afternoon especially when they cost a low $2.25 a lb. What you see in the pic cost $4.50.

 

Joe’s Stone Crab Claw sauce

  • 1 T  dry mustard or more to taste plus 1 teas
  • 1 C mayo
  • 2 t Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 t A-1 Sauce (I can’t find A-1 so I add a teaspoons of ketchup and a few gratings of orange peel) or you can find a mock A-1 Sauce recipe on the internet but it is only 1 teaspoon
  • 2 T heavy cream and milk
  • salt to taste

mix well, refrigerate

11 thoughts on “Pangora (Stone Crab Claws)

    • Hi TJ,
      Yes, we can get lobster here, a lobster dinner ajillo (garlic sauce) with paticonies (fried plantains) and arroz (rice) and sometimes if you are especially nice to the owner he will give you a fresh green salad all for $7. The lobster is not huge but filling enough for me. They are the spiny lobster like you get in Florida No Claws. We moved to Playas back in September from Salinas. Nancy

    • Hi Joe, I would love to, I will add it to the bottom of the blog post. FYI the claws were fabulous and the sauce went just perfect with them. We have one pound left for tomorrow’s lunch, can’t wait!! Nancy

    • Mary
      they are just wonderful, we had the first pound for lunch today and will have the second tomorrow. It is a treat not to spend a fortune and with the sauce recipe that Janice found for me they are almost perfect. The one thing I always loved was the fried sweet potatoes to go with them. No orange sweets here so I made sliced cucumbers with sour cream, perfect for a hot summer day…kisses to you and Dennis. Nancy

  1. Hi Nancy,
    Pangora is a favorite of mine also, and it is so delicious. I had some in Ayangue last year when I visited Ecuador. I just returned from Salinas last week and saw pangora in the Libertad fish market but opted from the conch instead. Not very happy with what I saw in Salinas: the streets are in worse condition than before, with garbage strewn everywhere; all the restaurants along the malecon had this stream of horrible-smelling stenchy water along their sidewalks (while patrons inside did not seem to care), the food is overpriced (I paid $7 for a shrimp and rice meal and actually had to search for no more than 6 shrimps inside a mountain of rice (so I usually ate in the Paseo Mall’s food court), flies (and mosquitoes) everywhere you eat along the malecon; and of course the usual problem of no public bathrooms along the malecon (just 2 porto-sans toilets for the throngs of visitors that came in on the weekend). The mayor has outright neglected this town and it is not looking better. I am curious as to why you made the move from Salinas to Playas. Leon

    • Hola Leon,
      So sad to hear of your experience in Salinas. We have had so much rain in Playas for the past two months that maybe Salinas is getting the same causing some of the issues. It is the responsibility of the restaurant to clean up any garbage or standing water around their business during business hours. So sad to see the lack of responsibility to ones customers, it makes you think what else are they not concerned about, the FOOD maybe??? We too have had big issues with flies and mosquitoes. We are very picky where we eat and try to find places that take more care in cleaning their premises, including the entire table and chair not just washing off the top with a damp rag. This past Friday Joe and I ate at one of the small restaurants on Paquisha. Joe ordered fried shrimp and he thinks he had 18 good sized shrimp with his meal, I ordered the Shrimp in Garlic Sauce and it too had a plate full of fresh shrimp. They were $6.50 each which was a very good price for the amount of food we received.

      We are looking to buy a small house to settle down, Playas was a better choice for us as we had heard prices were a bit less than Salinas but we really have not found anything that did not require a get deal of work and money yet the prices are no bargain. We are still looking…

      • Thanks for the reply Nancy. Yes, they all seem to be doing the quick tabletop wipeoff with the damp rag, which does not help with the fly issue. Most of the “restaurants” along the malecon are really street-side food vendors with a small kitchen in the back and some sidewalk tables and chairs. I do not think that there is any regulatory inspection of food or premises and I shudder at the notion of using their bathrooms.

        On the first night we had dinner at one of these restaurants on the Malecon, my wife took a sip of the Fiorvanti soda that they had brought in a glass of ice, before I could stop her. Having traveled to Ecuador for the past ten years regularly, I know to never have any drinks with the ice they bring, or any kind of fruit juice (that looks so tempting) even when they say that it was made with boiled water. I stick to those rules because I learned my lesson well the first two times I visited the country.

        In less than one hour, my wife began to feel the pangs of abdominal cramps and was beginning to get sick. But I always travel with the Diaren tablets I usually buy in Ecuadorian pharmacies and after she took one, she began to feel better. I keep a supply of these tablets whenever I travel to other countries as well, and they do work well. Better than anything I could get here in the U.S. (Immodium is no match for these Ecuadorian bacteria).

        We actually spent the week fixing up our house in Salinas and had four workers ready to start painting and repairing concrete, electrical stuff, water pump for the cistern, etc. as soon as we arrived. Had many trips back and forth from the hardware. We were exhausted at day 3 and made a trip into Guayaquil to visit the sites while the workers continued.

        I did see a few small houses close to the malecon up for sale in decent condition and rather good location less than two blocks away from the main road.

        Leon

        • Leon
          Life in Ecuador is always fun. Most restaurants used those large blue 5 gallon containers of bottled water, no place we ate at boiled water or used tap water for their juice drinks. Most places do not give you ice either at least that has been our experience you order a soda and maybe you will get a straw but ice that would be a real treat. Things will improve with more folks visiting and making comment so that restaurants make changes in how they do things. Nancy

  2. Pingback: Morning Update – Monday, March 19, 2012 « South of Zero

Leave a Reply

