Rain, Rain Go Away

While living in Salinas for over a year we were so surprised that it rained so little there. I would have to guess the total rain for a 15 month period was only a few inches. After that I felt like an expert on the weather. What a joke! I assumed (that ugly word) that the weather on this part of the Ecuadorian coast was always like that maybe the exception would be an  El Niño and La Niña  type system once in a blue moon. Wrong, Wrong, SO Wrong!

We have been in Playas for six months and the amount of rain we have gotten is almost unbelievable. I can only compare it to our trip to Seattle! Again last night it rained ALL NIGHT, non-stop and this morning it is so humid you get out of bed damp. The front car park area of our yard looks like a pool with black mold growing on the walls and especially the pavers. It is slippery and just plain yucky!

Yesterday when our guardian Oswaldo came to work he said he saw pescado and camarones in the pond at the back of the property, great joke for him and both Joe and I totally understood what he was talking about. There is no pond behind our house, or at least there is not supposed to be one. I just love these people, you give them lemons and they do make lemonade and then laugh about it.

Not one person I have run into over the past month has had a bad word to say about the weather, the humidity or the rain and the resulting muddy streets. I really need to get a more Ecuadorian attitude and I know it. Many places in town were sweeping or using buckets to get water out of the first floor tossing it out on to the already muddy streets. They still have a good outlook and this is a temporary  inconvenience. How wonderful to have such a great disposition. Dear Lord help me to become more Ecuadorian in word and deed!

I think this morning when Oswaldo comes by I will get a broom handle with a string on it and stand over the pond. That should make him chuckle.

Not much of a fishing pole but he did get a good laugh out of it when I asked him to catch me a few pescado for lunch.

4 thoughts on “Rain, Rain Go Away

  1. Hi Nancy, it looks like this year is turning out to be a very rainy one in Ecuador. My in-laws who live in Cuenca confirmed that it has rained a lot there also. It also rained a couple of days in Salinas and I noticed that the terrain leading to Salinas was much greener than usual. Hope it is an El Nino type year, because the last time there was tremendous damage. Hope the sun returns soon! Leon

    • Leon, from your lips to God’s ears. We do have a great deal of sun during the day but at night it rains so much some places in my yard are still looking like a small pond at 5pm…if it rains again tonight who knows where that water will end up. Hopefully not in the house… thanks for your comment. Nancy

  2. Hi Nancy, I also love the Ecuadorians .They are always so upbeat .and so kind and helpful. I really miss being there. I hope to return soon. Maryanne

Leave a Reply

