It’s the Yardbirds (okay some are on the beach)

I guess it is because of all the rain, the amount of bugs and yummy things available in our yard these days but we have seen a great number of different birds the past several days stopping in for a visit.

These are the tiniest sweet little parrots that I have seen. They can’t be bigger than 3″ or 4″ and are they chatterers, I only noticed them on the electric wires because they were carrying on so.

These crane type birds (UPDATE Sandy one reader said these birds are called Ibis 3/26/2012)  are normally out on the beach but the past several days they must have found some juicy bugs that have enticed them to our yard. They are very skittish and at the slightest movement they spread their huge wings and head skyward. Sorry that the pictures are not very clear they were always moving.

The yellow birds are the sweetest they come into the yard every day and they look like a couple to me. The male must be the one with the bright orange head.

Playas fisherman use balsa rafts to drop nets offshore. Then a group of men onshore pull the nets in, dragging everything that is in the water onto the beach. When they are near the beach the birds show up, dipping and diving trying to get a fresh fish. I have been told these are frigate birds and there should be some pelicans in the mix as well.

My knowledge of birds is basic as you can see. I just love watching them but if you know their names please be kind enough to share with me so I can share with my readers. Have a beautiful weekend! Nancy & Joe

6 thoughts on “It’s the Yardbirds (okay some are on the beach)

  1. WOW! I love birds and I love these pictures. I have a CANURE here at home. It’s from the family of parrots but much smaller. However, It’s much bigger than love birds. I’m not sure if I would be allowed to have this in our condo. I have not checked it yet. He gets too noisy when you don’t pay attention him.

    Thanks for the pics!

  2. Pingback: Morning Update – Saturday, March 24, 2012 « South of Zero

  3. “These crane type birds” are ibis. They like to visit my yard here in Florida. Thanks for the nice blog with photos.

  4. Hi Nancy – Love your blog!

    Your birds – I bought a great book from Amazon.com “Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands”; David L. Pearson and Les Beletsky, from Travelers’ Wildlife Guides. Lots of info & great colored wildlife pictures. From your pictures I would guess the green parrots are a male & female Pacific Parrotlet, 5″ long, they usually stay in small flocks of 5 to 15. The small bright yellow birds might be Saffron Finch, 5 1/2″ long, with bright orange forehead, they flock on the ground or in low bushes & trees.

    The white chested bird appears to be a White-tailed Jay, they are about 12″ long with pure white underparts & a blue back. They white “Ibis” actually seem to be immature male Cattle Egret by the yellow beaks and legs. The ones with yellow on their wings may be mature male Cattle Egret. The large white bird with the black beak & legs is an adult Snowy Egret.

    I really don’t know a thing about birds…..just like to identify what I see.

    • Marsha, Thank you so much for all this information, I love those little Parrotlets and the Finches they are just so dainty and sweet. Appreciate you looking them up for me. Have a great day! Nancy

Leave a Reply

