Corvina (Sea Bass) in a Wine and Cream Sauce

We really love fish, I guess after living in Florida for all those years early in our marriage we always expected to have good fresh fish available to us. We were complacent about how lucky we were to be living so close to the sea, with all its wonders. And one day it was all gone, Joe changed jobs and we found ourselves inland, way inland living outside of Atlanta. Yes, you say Atlanta has an abundance of fresh fish all you need to do is go to Atlanta Fish Market or Harry’s Farmers Market and be able to pay for it. You have that right, it is a bit costly. Well to say we were fish deprived would be an understatement. I picked up a package of salmon at Walmart, or tilapia in the freezer section of Publix but it was not the same. Then where did we move, Dolega, Panama. Talk about a desert when it came to fish, even though the ocean was just 20 odd miles away. If I was lucky a truck would come by twice a week, you were at the mercy of the driver when it came to the cost and quality of the fish. I paid $9 a pound for shrimp with the heads on and had to beg him to stop at my house, $5 a pound for almost any fish he had. The big items were Mullet (lisa), Red Snapper (pargo) and Ray (skate). I would use skate and lisa to make a hearty soup along with shrimp if they were available. Making a base using home-made vegetable broth or even better fish broth, tomatoes, carrot, onions and celery . This was the favorite of my neighbors because I made a huge pot and would share with all the families on our street.

This past Sunday morning my two favorite fishmongitas (women that sell fish, I just made that up ja ja) were both short on sea bass (corvina) that was a pun they had short corvina, itty bitty ones not for me. I found that the woman I normally buy my shrimp from had some larger corvina but they were expensive. I bought one for $5 completely cleaned and fileted. They always include the head and bones when you buy a whole fish for making soup but normally I give this to the guardian and either his wife makes sancocho or he feeds it to Bingo his dog, nothing goes to waste.

This is Osvaldo our guardian and Bingo his faithful dog.

Here are most of the ingredients, I cook by the seat of my pants most times adding things as I go along so what is missing from this photo is the cream, salt and pepper.

I know I need a bigger cast iron skillet but this is the largest I could find in Pycca in Libertad.

This is the wine and cream sauce that I poured over the cooked fish.

Just another great meal in paradise, if you don’t mind me saying so.

Sea Bass in White Wine and Cream Sauce

  • 1-2 lbs of sea bass (corvina) cleaned and fileted
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T butter

In a hot frying pan add the oil and butter. Place the fish that has been lightly sprinkled with S & P in the pan and sauté for about 3-5 minutes depending upon the thickness of the fish. Gently turn fish and turn off heat. The residual heat in the pan should cook the fish completely. While they finish start your sauce.

Wine and Cream Sauce

In a separate pan:

  • 1-2 cloves of garlic crushed
  • 2 T chopped fresh herbs, I used basil
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/8 – 1/4 t of red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 C white wine
  • 3 T cream
  • salt optional (taste before adding it may not need it)

Add olive oil to a medium hot frying pan, add garlic and red pepper flakes, sauté gently not to burn either. Add white wine bring to a boil and cook off the alcohol. Allow to reduce for a few  minutes. After the wine has reduced add half the fresh herbs and whisk in the butter. Cook for one minute and add the cream.  Taste for seasoning add salt if necessary. Pour sauce over fish, sprinkle with the balance of the fresh herbs and serve.

Yummy!

5 thoughts on “Corvina (Sea Bass) in a Wine and Cream Sauce

  1. What a great recipe!. You are right, publics and SweetBay fish lack freshness and flavor. I think most if it is frozen and then thawed. I am in Pinellas, Florida and there really are not many fish markets and the prices are very high. I wanted to get some flounder and it was 10.99 a lb

    • Hi Tom, We had a friend visit from St, John’s, Florida about a month ago. He said sea bass was over $18 a pound. This is way beyond what we can afford. Thanks for your comment, make it a great day! Nancy

  2. Pingback: Morning Update – Wednesday, May 30, 2012 « South of Zero

  3. Hi Nancy…
    Just what I was looking for, a rustic, fresh, light receipe! Can’t wait to try it… FYI the price of sea bass in toronto is $25.99 🙂

    • Hi Andrew, thanks for your comment I hope you enjoy the sauce for this fish. It is so sad to see how expensive food has become, we do feel blessed that we can have fresh seafood anytime for a very low price. Nancy

Leave a Reply

