Triple Layer Cookie Bars

I have a list of favorite cookie recipes that I’ve made for years.  This one is really nice because it does not require a huge amount of work or time making individual cookies. Made in a baking pan and cut into individual bars,  it’s a very rich cookie. Don’t cut the pieces big – a two to three bite cookie is the best size.

Triple Layer Cookie Bar

  • 1/2 C butter
  • 1  1/2 C Chocolate Animal Cookies
  • 1  –  7 oz. package of flaked coconut – Coco Rallado
  • 1  –  14 oz. can of condensed milk
  • 1  –  12 oz. bar of Superior Chocolate
  • 1/2 C creamy peanut butter – mani

Grease a 9 x 13 pan and dust with coco powder.  Melt butter and mix with the crumbled cookies and press into bottom – if the crumbs are not coated with butter add a few more spoonfuls to make them stick together.  Sprinkle the coconut evenly over the crumbs and press into cookie base. Pour the condensed milk over all to cover evenly.

Bake in a 325 f or 170 c –  (I make it a bit higher) for about 25 minutes or until the edges are a golden brown.  Let stand to cool 5 minutes.

While crust is cooling, in a sauce pan melt the chocolate and peanut butter together and pour over the cookie base to cover.  Let cool completely.

From top left – Fresh Peanut Butter (Mani), Chocolate Animal Cookies (Galletas), Superior Chocolate Bar, Coconut (Coco Rallado) and Condensed Milk.

Everyone who love chocolate loves this cookie bar, it will go fast so hide a few for yourself!

3 thoughts on “Triple Layer Cookie Bars

  1. Pingback: Morning Update – Thursday, May 31, 2012 « South of Zero

  2. Where did you find coco powder? When I was in Salinas ,we looked everywhere for coco. I use it in my chocolate pies. Gosh I miss that place. I love the people

    • Hola Maryanne, I understand you can buy it here but so far I have not found cocoa powder anywhere. I did get a small bag as a gift from a restaurant owner who has a finca that grows the cocao plants. I cheated and asked a friend coming back from the states to get me a box of Hershey’s Cocoa. His sister, the sweet thing, went to a bakery supply store in Chicago and bought me a huge 5 lb bag for $15…it must have taken up almost half of his luggage. It will last me a really long time. But for this recipe I used Superior Chocolate bars that you can buy at most tiendas and supermercados here. It worked great! Thanks for your comment, Nancy

Leave a Reply

