Coral on the Rocks and Jellyfish on the Sand

Coral or what? On one of our walks up the beach last weekend, Joe saw what looks to be a coral formation on the rocks on the beach. So of course, I needed to take some pictures.

I actually could not get very close and I guess I was a little afraid to have some sea creature pop out and take a bite of me so I took these from afar…but it really looks to be some sort of coral formation to me, odd because these are the rocks on the beach that are more often not covered with water. If anyone knows for sure what this is let me know, if I was not such a chicken I would get a little closer and would check it out myself.

While on the beach in Playas several months back, I was stung by a little blue jelly fish. The pain was incredible and it lasted for over a week with a long welt on the inner thigh of one leg and some small spots on the other. Since then we have found out that jelly fish are more prevalent in the water close to shore about 8-10 days after a full moon. If stung do not rub or wash the area with salt water but pour vinegar on the sting, the stronger the vinegar the better. I have now subscribed to a web site that sends me a reminded for the full moon http://www.fullmoon.info/en/fullmoon-memo.html and we are more careful being in the water during those times. A week ago while walking the beach I spotted those same little blue devils and gave them a very wide berth.  Never want to get stung by these little fellows again.

I know what you’re saying, “they don’t look like much” but let me tell you the pain from this little thing will be remembered for a very long time. Be alert for a bloom of jellyfish day 8 to day 10 after a full moon. Don’t say I did not warn you! And do what we do – bring a little bottle of vinegar to the beach with you. I understand that in Australia where these critters pose a constant problem, there are actual vinegar stands all along the beach selling the cure!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Box_jellyfish

Treatment of stings

Once a tentacle of the box jellyfish adheres to skin, it pumps nematocysts with venom into the skin, causing the sting and agonizing pain. Successful use of Chironex antivenom by members of the Queensland Ambulance Transport Brigade showed that acetic acid, found in vinegar, disables the box jelly’s nematocysts that have not yet discharged into the bloodstream (though it will not alleviate the pain). Common practice is to apply generous amounts of vinegar prior to and after the stinging tentacle is removed. Removal of additional tentacles is usually done with a towel or gloved hand, to prevent secondary stinging. Tentacles will still sting if separated from the bell, or after the creature is dead. Removal of tentacles without prior application of vinegar may cause unfired nematocysts to come into contact with the skin and fire, resulting in a greater degree of envenomation.[citation needed]

Although commonly recommended in folklore and even some papers on sting treatment,[25] there is no scientific evidence that urineammoniameat tenderizersodium bicarbonateboric acidlemon juicefresh watersteroid creamalcoholcold packspapaya, or hydrogen peroxide will disable further stinging, and these substances may even hasten the release of venom.[26] Pressure immobilization bandages, methylated spirits, or vodka should never be used for jelly stings.[27][28][29][30] In severe Chironex fleckeristings cardiac arrest can occur quickly, so cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) can be life-saving and takes priority over all other treatment options.[citation needed]

9 thoughts on “Coral on the Rocks and Jellyfish on the Sand

  1. Really enjoying your blog. Your dinner at Viviana’s reminds me of the meals I enjoy so much when in coastal EC…yummy!

    Will be in EC in a couple of weeks. Home is Central FL. Remember reading in prior blogs that there were some US items you have trouble getting or are very costly. Will be coming as far as Playas, if there is a “must have” you want or need that can fit in my suitcase, be happy to bring. MKWOWBUZZ.

    • Arlene, thank you so much your kind words and your kind offer. I may take you up on it. Let me think of something that we cannot find here and I will let you know in a day or so. Again, thank you for your kindness. Nancy

  2. Thanks Nancy–I was stung with jelly fish long many years ago in Texas padre island and suffered itching and rash for a while but Benadryl took care of it-I have gone to ocean almost daily in Manta beach this year and year before for almost monthe and a half but never seen any jelly fish on the beach or in the water so I was bragging to my friends that the ocean here does not have jelly fish-Hey now i will use precaution and count the days after the moon- Very informative–Thanks

    • Yusuf, That was the first time I had even been stung, it was very very painful and I do not want to feel that again!!! Thanks for your comment, Nancy

  3. Pingback: Morning Update – Tuesday, August 7, 2012 « South of Zero

    • Hi Z, thanks for reading, I hate having surprises so knowing about these itty bitty jellyfish and how awful their sting is was important to post. Hope never to have a sting like that again, Nancy

        • I hope so too, not a nice feeling. We had scorpions in one home in Central Florida, we would find them on the porch all the time. Not very big but not friendly looking. Nancy

Leave a Reply

