Lobster in Paradise

During the week I approached Freddy about getting shrimp.  He walked me down to where the fishing boats are stored one block from our house and asked a woman on a hammock about camerones. She said no and we walked back to the house together. I went about my business and I thought he went about his. About 15 minutes later he shows up with three black plastic bags in the back of his truck. One held 4 lbs of nice sized heads-on shrimp and the other two had live lobsters. Yes, you read that right, three large and about 10 small spiny lobsters all dancing around in the bags wanting out.

I went absolutely crazy wild and he sold me all of this for $27.50.

I packages the shrimp up in three individual triple wrapped package and put those right in the freezer but the lobsters were going to be MINE, hear me, ALL MINE.  Well except for what I shared with Joe that is.  ; ) grin

I know this picture looks strange but I wanted to see the march of the lobsters before I put them in the pot! They did a good job of shaking their tentacles at me but as for the marching not so much!

I had never cooked live lobsters before, you know those frozen tails you could get at the market were the extent of my experience. But I never shirk from a new cooking task and this was just another learning experience for me. On to the internet to find out what folks do with lobster. Boiling seems to be the best way when it comes to live lobster so Joe found my largest pot (remember we are living out of boxes and our suitcases as I really do not want to repack again before moving into our house) I got it filled with water added salt and put it on the stove. As soon as it started to boil I split the lobster into batches and started dropping them in the pot, the little guys put up a fight, one attempted a speedy escape almost jumping out so I had Joe standing there with the lid to the pot ready to push those babies back in the pot if they tried that again.

I must admit that we ate every last bite that night. I heated up butter and made a cocktail sauce and we sat while watching some TV shows on the computer stuffing our faces until our stomachs were ready to burst…it was truly the most enjoyable feast we have had in a very long time.  Thank you Freddy and now I know all I need to do is go to his friend Panocho and he will sell me whatever he has in stock. The blessing keep coming!!!! Thank you

8 thoughts on “Lobster in Paradise

    • Ana, you and Steve are invited any time, then we will get Panocho to get us a little bit of everything he can get his hands on. We will have a feast! N

    • Helga, You had your feast with the lobster tails and king crab legs so don’t make me feel guilty, love you girl and when you come to visit I will be sure to have some great seafood for you and Charles. N

    • Helga, You had your feast with the lobster tails and king crab legs so don’t make me feel guilty, love you girl and when you come to visit I will be sure to have some great seafood for you and Charles. N

  1. Pingback: Morning Update – Thursday, August 9, 2012 « South of Zero

  2. Spinies are the best. Far far better than the north atlantic (claws) kind. Here in Calif spinies will go for over 20 per lb, north atlantic on the other hand can be had for around 7 per lb.

    • Hi Rich, We are in the restricted time for lobster but just yesterday I was offered 8 lbs of them at $5 a pound. They are safe in my freezer at the moment. Have a great day, thanks for your comment. Nancy

Leave a Reply

