Peter Piper Picked a Peck….

This weeks treasure on the produce trucks and carts were these beautiful yellow-orange peppers.

I also found some small cucumbers at the Charapoto market last weekend so I made Bread & Butter pickles but using Splenda instead of sugar. I did not hold much hope that they would not have an awful aftertaste but they actually are pretty good. Then I made Garlic Pickle Spears especially for Joe. Very good indeed! My Grandmother Kielar would be proud.

From left to right, Pickled Hot Peppers in a Fruit Vinegar, Bread & Butter Pickles with Splenda and Refrigerator Garlic Dill Spears. Notice I am reusing jars. I have not been able to find canning jars anywhere on my travels around Ecuador.  Caution must be taken to make sure that the jars seal; if not your food can spoil. Yesterdays’ batch of hot peppers could be heard popping hours after they had their hot bath!

3 thoughts on “Peter Piper Picked a Peck….

  1. Nancy, I think I am going to have to spend a day with you in the kitchen and you can show me (teach me) how to pickle!! They all look great!!!!

    • Canning lessons begin on September…..anytime you want to come by when I am canning I will be happy to let you watch or even help for that matter. Again, my only issue is getting jars to put the stuff in. I can let you know when I find some good deals at the mercado and we can plan a day together. Nancy

  2. Pingback: Morning Update – Monday, August 27, 2012 « South of Zero

Leave a Reply

