Shrimp Roll Supreme

My fish guy delivered fresh shrimp to my gate yesterday morning, 10 to a pound, heads-on beauties. I asked Joe what he thought of a Shrimp Roll sandwich and he jumped on board the seafood train bound for shrimp nirvana.

San Clemente 1.20.2012 002

San Clemente 1.20.2012 003

San Clemente 1.20.2012 004

Shrimp Roll Supreme

  • 4 fresh rolls
  • 8 oz. cooked shrimp cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 c. mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp. prepared mustard
  • 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 c. finely chopped, diced green pepper
  • fresh cilantro
  • sliced avocado
  • 2 tbsp. grated Parmesan cheese

In a bowl, mix the mayonnaise, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, cilantro and green pepper. Fold in shrimp. Cut roll and place avocado on the roll first add shrimp mixture. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Broil in the oven at 400 degrees for about 4 minutes until lightly browned on top. Serve immediately. Makes 4 servings.
NOTE: You may want to try crab meat instead of shrimp and try substituting grated cheddar cheese instead of Parmesan for a flavor difference.  It was decadent!

San Clemente 1.20.2012 006

Served with homemade bread and butter pickles. Excellent!

24 thoughts on “Shrimp Roll Supreme

    • You are right Nancy, Joe thinks this is my best sandwich ever and that is saying a lot!!! It is hard to say I was getting tired of shrimp cocktails and shrimp in garlic sauce but we were, so I decided to make a sandwich…one of Joe’s most favorite things in the world and it worked!!! Nancy

    • Mary and John, just another way to use shrimp and to Joe a sandwich is better than a steak dinner!!! I am going to Bahia today to pay our property taxes, this should be fun, don’t you know!!! Nancy

    • Hey Libby, I hope you like it as much as we do. I have made this twice already, Joe says it’s his new favorite recipe…I hope David likes it as well. How is the new place doing? Joe is still fighting the tail-end of his cold, hopefully by this weekend he will be over it…he is tired of it and I am really ready to get out of the house, ha ha Nancy PS Maybe we will have some sun today!

      • No matter, we have shrimp here too. It’s about the company anyway, so if I’m ever in your neighborhood I’ll be happy with anything, and I’ll bring the beer and whatever else! 😀 Meanwhile though, I’m saving your shrimp recipe.

        • Kris, it is a really good idea for shrimp. Any time you want to sit and sip a beer we would love to visit with you, Nancy & Joe

    • Hi Z, Yes, I agree with you, lentil cakes would not turn me on but look at you, how fit and trim. I look like a dumpling ha ha Nancy

      • ah, if you threw yourself into painting the way that i do, you’d not want to stop to cook and eat… now if someone was doing that cooking, i would probably find a stopping point and join the feast! but on retrospect, no, i don’t ever want to stop until i reach a true good stopping point.. and then i’m ready to shake the cobwebs from my brain! i’m about to put on my boots and slosh to town.. the clouds are not quite so low, and i think i can make it there before the rains resume.

        or maybe they sun will shine?!

        • Z, it was very nice here today and that was good because I had three loads of laundry to do, towels, sheets and dark clothes…I did get Serrano to look at my pump, it has been taking me so long to do the laundry because the water fills so slow. Seems that one of the pipes had some gunk in it and the pump was working so hard and very little water was coming into the house. If I had the kitchen sink going Joe could not take a shower. Not any fun for either of us, after he cleaned out the pipe I did two loads of laundry very fast. Nancy

          • ah, isn’t it funny how our priorities change? it’s great when something as ‘simple’ as better water pressure is the highlight of the week!!!!

            i went to town and back today w/o getting caught in the rain, then i worked til dark in the yard. yippee!

            z

            • Z, I cannot believe that we have lived here for 6 months with that water pressure, so happy it is fixed. What a great shower I had last evening..ha ha My yard needs some attention today but not sure if it is going to get it. Well off to get my day started, Nancy

              • We’re having trouble with water here too. Often it’s off for repairs or something, or there is so little pressure nothing comes out of the tap by afternoon. We’ve learned to get by OK except for laundry – Oh my, there is water this morning. QUICK! Get the laundry going!

                • Kris, our issue is not having electricity..this week it has gone out at least five time one day it was out for at least 12 hours…we really don’t care except no refrig, can’t open the freezer and no music…without the internet is like a mini vacation, yeah I said it…then I get to sit in the hammock, read a book or just relax under the trees…or if it is sunny out we just take the sand chairs and go to the beach…good excuse to eat out as well, ha ha Now you know all my little secrets!!! nancy

    • Now Karen, you are ready to move here. That is way nothing will be as good in your mind as it was in Ecuador. Now all you need to do is work out the details. Be well my friend, Nancy

    • Ahh. I’d much rather do without water than electricity, but with you they go together. Maybe no electricity would do me a lot of good though, and I would sit somewhere with a book too!

      • Kris, it does have it’s good side, sitting with everything so quiet, no music, no electric machinery…it can be relaxing just because of the quiet. Have a wonderful Sunday, Nancy

Leave a Reply

