Lobster Spring Rolls with Spicy Peanut Dipping Sauce

Many folks when traveling around Ecuador make a stop in San Clemente just to say hi, or to stay for a few days or even to look for something to rent or buy. Some ask if they can bring anything from the States or Canada when they come to visit. I have kept a post-it note list with items that we cannot find here that I call my Wish List. When someone asks if they can bring us something I have been just sending them my list. Pick up one item or more – whatever they can easily fit in the luggage and I will happily pay for what you bring.

When Colleen and Richard stopped by Saturday morning they were bearing gifts. Things that I cannot find here that are special food memories from times gone by. One of those items was Spring Roll Wraps. Now before some of my readers get their backs up, we buy locally as much as we can get, we try very hard to spend our money right here in San Clemente, living as close to the locals way of life as possible – we don’t live in a fancy US style apartment or house but…there are things that we loved back in the states one is going to a Japanese or Thai or Malaysian restaurant and having Green Curry Chicken, Pho (pronounced Fa) or Malaysian Chicken Curry with Roti…most I can make almost from scratch but when it comes to Spring Rolls (summer rolls) I will never be able to make those thin rice pancakes no matter how hard I try. So that is where my wish list come into play, things like cardamom seeds, poppy seeds or these Spring Roll Wrappers, that I have not seen here. So all you folks out there that are just ready to give me a hard time about not Going Native, stop and think about those special things that you love, can do without of course but how wonderful when you can make your own version using local produce and the freshest seafood.

San Clemente 2.3.2013 001

So I decided to make Lobster Spring Rolls. Oh My! They were out of this world, Joe had the forethought to take a picture before we gobbled them down.

San Clemente 3.2.2013 003

Lobster Spring Rolls

  • 2 Lobsters steamed, cooled and taken out of the shell cut into bite sized pieces
  • you can substitute shrimp that is how we normally have them
  • 2 leaves of lettuce cut Julienne
  • 1 small avocado sliced
  • 1 small carrot grated
  • fresh basil leaves
  • small amount of cooked thin rice noodles
  • 4 spring roll wraps

Spring roll wraps are a dry thin rice pancake, these should be rehydrated by adding a small amount of warm water to both sides of the pancake. When it become pliable add your ingredients putting your lobster or shrimp down first close to one end of the pancake, then the balance of the ingredients, DO NOT OVERPACK as it will not be easy to roll up. Start with the filled end and roll, pulling in the ends as you go along. The pancake will stick to itself sealing.

Peanut Sauce for dipping:

  • 3 tablespoons of fresh peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons of hoisin sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped peanuts
  • 1 teaspoon of hot sauce

Mix first three ingredients together over heat until peanut butter is melted and a sauce consistency, add more water if needed. Set aside and cool add chopped peanuts and hot sauce to taste. It should have a sweet and hot taste add a bit more hoisin if it is not sweet enough.

I forgot the avocado and ended up just laying them on top, it was unbelievable and we cannot thank Colleen and Richard for hand delivering these spring roll wraps to us all the way from Canada. You guys need to come back over and we will make up another batch for you to test.

12 thoughts on “Lobster Spring Rolls with Spicy Peanut Dipping Sauce

  1. I have been enjoying your blog and all the delightful recipes you provide. My husband and I just moved to Crucita, Ecuador one month ago from the States. I understand how it is to miss something, even while enjoying a million other things. We love it here and are settling in nicely. One thing I have been searching for and haven’t seen yet, and the locals don’t know of, is fresh green jalapeno peppers (not the canned pickled ones). Do you know of somewhere in the area where those can be had? Thanks again for sharing your adventures.

    • Hi Donna, The last place I saw them was Supermaxi in Guayaquil. I have not seen them here in Portoviejo. The only ones they have had the last several times are the red and orange variety of hot pepper, not Jalapeno’s. I will keep an eye out and when or if I see them I will let you know. So happy that you are settling into your new place in Crucita. best of luck to you, Nancy

  2. Glad you are enjoying the spring rolls and the fish sauce, I was worried the fish sauce would break in transit. We got poblanos and red jalapenos in the Supermaxi in Manti on our way down, good in potatoe salad. Went into Portoviejo this morning to stock up on some food and beer.

    • Hey Colleen, thanks so much for the head-up on the red jalapenos, Donna just asked about jalapenos today. We are going to Meiers on Thursday night for pizza if you are interested we can meet there or you can stop over the house before. Nancy

    • Hi Colleen, come over around 5 -5:30 and we will probably walk up together. Butch and Joyce will be here as well. Should be fun. Nancy & Joe

  3. I would like to commend your blog Nancy, from my desk here in New Jersey. It looks like a adventurous week with delicious food. Enjoy!

    • Wendy, you sweet thing you. Thanks for your kind words, I truly appreciate them and you for reading about our life here in Ecuador. I was born and raised in Carbondale, PA so we are probably related or my mother knows your mother ha ha I need to get more lobster because those spring rolls were out of this world, it is the little things that make Joe and I happy and to have fresh lobster is a luxury we seldom had in the US. Be well my new friend, Nancy

  4. Hi Nancy,
    When I found your blog I read it all in 2 days—fascinating to say the least. My husband and I are planning a trip within the next year to confirm in our minds what we already believe in our hearts. Our 2 adult daughters are planning to join us. My concern is that some sources say it is nearly impossible to get prescription for certain items (I have made a change to your comment to protect your privacy). Is this true? That would be a real deal breaker, as both my daughter and I have medical problems that are very well controlled as long as we stay on our medicine. Is there a way I can get some more definitive info on this subject?

    • Christina, I sent a reply to your by private email several days ago but have not heard back from you. Please check your emails for a message from me at my blog email address hammock11@hotmail.com It may have gone into your spam folder by mistake. If you cannot find my email please get back to me so I can answer your questions, Nancy

Leave a Reply

