Starting our Shelving

Quote for the day:

“You cannot protect yourself from sadness without protecting yourself
from happiness.”
— Jonathan Safran Foer

Joe and I took some time off the past few months from construction work on the house to decide what was the most important items needed to make our life easier, now that we have lived in the house for a while. Since July we have dealt with concrete dust, saws spinning and hammers banging. We needed some time to live quietly in our house, get used to the rhythm of daily living, give our wallet a rest and time to recuperate –  and then decide what projects were most important.

I think the kitchen shelving under the counters is the most important item for me at this point. Having half of the kitchen items in the one spare room, stacked on a bunk bed works, but is not really that convenient for me.

San Clemente 1.16.2013 002

I found out that Max, our next door neighbor (actually renting the house we rented before this one was ready) is a master carpenter…so he offered to help us out. Early one Monday morning we went to the lumber yard and found what Max felt was the best hardwood to make the storage shelves under the kitchen counters. We placed our order, gave our deposit and were told it could be ready that afternoon or the next morning. Max did not want to rush these folks so he told them the next day would be fine. When we returned the next day we were told that enough wood for our needs was not available from the raw boards we had picked out, so Max started the task of looking at all the other hardwoods looking for the best for the job. He found it and they starting to plane it — I think that is the correct terminology. And then cut the pieces per Max’s dimensions. The two photos below show what we bought for $129.00.

San Clemente 1.16.2013 005

This will take care of under both kitchen counters and should last us our lifetime. Next he picked up these for some of the shelving we will be doing in the house.

San Clemente 1.16.2013 006

Max hand-picked each and every board to be sure there were straight and dried and ready for our use. This is what the undercounters look like before the shelving was installed. Not a great use of space!

San Clemente 1.16.2013 004

San Clemente 1.16.2013 003

Here is what it looks like during installation, looks like tons of room right? Think again!

San Clemente 1.20.2013 004

San Clemente 1.20.2013 003

Now the shelves filled!!!

San Clemente 1.20.2013 011

San Clemente 1.20.2013 012

THe next days project is the shelving in our storage/laundry room.

San Clemente 1.20.2013 014

San Clemente 1.20.2013 013

This is the finished product…all those shelves to fill…..what JOY!!!

San Clemente 1.22.2013 002

Now you can see how I have filled them up already, but getting all these items off the floor, adding a place to hang my brooms and mops was a stroke of genius.

San Clemente 2.18.2013 003 San Clemente 2.18.2013 004 San Clemente 2.18.2013 005

12 thoughts on “Starting our Shelving

    • Will, so much more work to be done, but I know I feel like a “pig in slop” to have all my kitchen things in the kitchen, be well, Nancy

  1. Beautiful shelving! Isn’t it nice to get everything organized in one spot? I’m still debating on closing in the space under our kitchen counters, so everything doesn’t show. The problem is that wood swells in the rainy season and lots of little critters can hide in the dark spaces. But, the dust..oh the dust. Maybe I’ll make curtains below the kitchen counters. Oh, I got some tile floor wax and tried it on a little section of our tile floors. It is beautiful…but oh so slippery. I don’t think I’ll be able to wax all of the floors because it is just way too slippery. 😦

    • Deborah, this is just the first step, I to have the dust issue so cabinet doors will be added to the bottom of the counters but I really wanted open cubbie type shelving above but I will need to clean everything all the time if I do that. I have been thinking of doors with glass just a bit of protection from the dust…now to find someone to make them for me along with the lower cabinets doors.

      The floors we have look like terrazzo, it is a concrete composite tile with stones that have been sanded down similar to terrazzo almost porous. I like that one wax because it is so light. Sorry I guess it would be slippery on regular tile floors, I did not think about that when I suggested it to you.
      Nancy

    • You will never know just how great it was to have shelving under the sink and counter, now to get Liliana to come by and help us with cabinets…I am so ready for more storage at this point. Be well, N

    • Marilee, living without makes you appreciate the smallest things, having to walk into another room, searching for items on the bunkbed made me really appreciate a few boards under the sink, now for doors and maybe a bit of cabinets above, I will truly feel like a princess.

  2. Hey, Nancy.
    Looks fantastic! Now you can really cook up a storm without going from room to room for supplies. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

