Medical Testing in San Clemente Centro

Early this morning I got an email from my friend Libby letting me know that there was medical testing being done in downtown Clemente from 8:30am on. Well I read the email after about 9am but quick jumped on my bike to find out what was available.

First – Libby took a bunch of pictures and it will be posted on her son David’s blog so go to: http://figuringitoutinecuador.wordpress.com/

By the time I got there the place was pretty packed with folks waiting on the various test being preformed – each test for a $2 fee.  I know that $2 for a blood test or a mammogram, well this is unbelievable to me.

San Clemente 4.19a.2013 005 San Clemente 4.19a.2013 004 San Clemente 4.19a.2013 003 San Clemente 4.19a.2013 002 San Clemente 4.19a.2013 001

6 thoughts on “Medical Testing in San Clemente Centro

    • John & Mary. It was a great set up, I would get there earlier next time and get to be one of the first in line. I got there late and there were so many folks ahead of me…hopefully someone will tell us about it earlier…Nancy

  1. Hi Nancy: Have to tell you about my experience last August while at our Casa in Los Ranchos (Crucita). I was not feeling well, dizzy, quezy, etc. Went to the San Antonio Clinica in Portoviego – Saw a cardiologist who did an EKG, then the next morning to a lab for many blood test, then to a Neurologist for a MRI Brain Scan and a bunch of tests for dabetic neuropathy – once they were done and the docs were satisfied none of them were my problem, I had a Gastroenderologist to and Endoscopy, with a Anestiolosist, and two nurses in the room. The doc removed three polyps from my stomach, had them biopsied, gave me some meds and I felt very good. I spent one night in the clinic with a two room suite – very nice – and Bill got to stay with me the entire time. All of this cost a mere $1600.00 – My U.S. insurance has a $500.00 deductable outside the U.S. so that’s what it actually cost me $500.00 – Most of all the doctor’s spoke Good to broken English and one had a translator. It was a very good experience from start to finish which was only three days. I was pleasantly surprised not knowing what to expect.
    Audrey

    • Audrey, I am so happy that you feel that you got great treatment at the Clinica San Antonio, that is where I will be going early next week to a dentist that our friend Jackie recommended. I also have heard good things about this clinica and hope that my experience is as good as yours. Thanks so much for your comment, Nancy

  2. Unbelievable! (In a great way, I must add.) That is one of the reasons I would like to explore living in Ecuador. We need our health care to be more of a preventative nature here in the US.

    • Hi Again Lynda, I like the idea that it is available for such a small fee. We have three doctors in our local clinic and one nurse. There services are no charge and their office is open M-F 8:30am to 4 or 4:30pm. Any tests, medications, supplies needed are the patients responsibility. Anyone in Ecuador from a tourist to a citizen can use this service. Nancy

Leave a Reply

