Piglets and the Lot Next Door

This rainy season has not been what we had expected. I was told that last year it rained for hours at a time, streets were a mess with mud up to your knees and it continued for four months. Now I am not interested in four months of muddy streets so I am not complaining that we had such a beautiful rainy season. I guess what I want to know is, if we did get all that rain what would the lot next door look like? Right now it has been less than two months from when I first had Jose come in and cut the weeds back. Look at it today!

San Clemente 4.25.2013 005

San Clemente 4.25.2013 002

The vines are climbing up the walls, attaching themselves to the trees in our yard and look more and more like kudzu every day.

We are holding off having Jose back until we are sure the rains have stopped. But we did have a few visitors that came by yesterday just to check it out.

San Clemente 4.25.2013 003

San Clemente 4.25.2013 004

10 thoughts on “Piglets and the Lot Next Door

    • TJ, good to hear from you. No I leave that to other folks more capable than I would be. They just come to visit, yesterday they were walking down the street in front of the house. I do prefer to see them in the empty lot next door. Nancy

    • Good morning John and Mary, I am sure the owner of those cute little piglets would be mighty unhappy to find one or both missing. Plus I have a hard time killing a mosquito how in the world would I kill a pig….not me…But maybe for Christmas this year we could do a pig roast as an Expat Community, or even better a pig roast on the beach with bonfire, oh I am getting way ahead of myself…and NO I did not volunteer ha ha I have not seen John to give him the sal de mar, send that guy over okay…N

    • Kris, so what do you think cover the weeds in bacon fat??? Now I know that sounds awful but they eat everything so I don’t think they would turn their noses up at bacon fat…I need to have Jose over next week to hack this stuff back, the vines are growing up the walls onto the trees in the yard..not a good thing

  1. If pigs are penned in to a small location they will eat everything and even dig up all the roots with their snouts. They can be used like little tractors.

    • Hi again Tim, In some cities here in Ecuador the pigs roam all through town including right into folks homes. We are pretty lucky here we have a few pigs but they mostly stay around their own place so I see them on my walks only. We do have many folks that have chickens in their backyards and one street over they also raise turkeys…not exactly farm but pretty rural here. Nancy

Leave a Reply

