All Things Jalapeño

Tuesday while shopping in Mi Comisariato I found fresh green jalapeño peppers. That may not sound like a big deal to you but they are not often available so I picked up a big bag and yesterday I pickle some of those beauties as well as made my special Hot Pepper Jelly.

San Clemente 8.29.2013 002What I ended up with was two jars of pickled peppers, five jars of Hot Pepper Jelly (one has already been given to a friend) and one container of Jalapeño Pepper Sauce especially for Joe.  I have kept some seeds for planting and have some drying for hot pepper flake.

San Clemente 8.29.2013 003Hot Pepper Jelly

  • 6 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped jalapeños seeded
  • 1 cup finely chopped green bell pepper seeded
  • 1 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar (I used 1 cup white vinegar & 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar)
  • 1 t butter (this stops the foam from forming on the top of your jelly)
  • 1 box Sure-Jell (thanks to Susan & Jimmy for bringing this from the states for me) or 1 bottle of Certo
  • green or red food coloring (optional – the peppers turn an unappealing color when heated so this brightens it up)

Clean and sterilize your jars first. Set aside on a clean dish towel. Clean and seed your peppers and chop very fine (I use a food processor for this step), then add to a large pot with the sugar, vinegar and butter. Stir over medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil for one minute, lower the heat to a simmer for 5 minutes.

If using Sure-Jell: In a small saucepan add 3/4 cup of water and the box of Sure-Jell using a whisk mix well and simmer gently until dissolved.

If using Certo: It is already a liquid, just add the bottle to the mixture.

Add to the pepper mixture along with several drops of food coloring.  Stir for a minute or two and turn off heat. Pour into sterilized jars, clean rim of jar of any drips, cap and allow to cool before refrigerating.

Serve with cream cheese on crackers.

San Clemente 8,29a.2013 005 Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “All Things Jalapeño

    • Hi Diane, I like so many different things that you just cannot find on the shelves so I make my own (if I can). The Hot Pepper Jelly is a nice hostess gift and anything made from scratch here is gratefully accepted. Thinking of you and Rob hope all is well. I finally got the pictures uploaded and off to Rob..some days the internet will just not cooperate but this morning it was a happy camper and did what I wanted it to. Miss you guys. N

  1. Hi Nancy! I love seeing your recipes – I have saved a lot of them – and for sure will use this one. We’re still waiting for the completion of our townhouse in Cotacachi (3 moths now), but we are seeing some progress these days. Have had to change my email address – we got broken into where we’re renting and our computers were stolen, so have to make a few changes. Hope you and Joe are doing well – Bill and I are still loving Ecuador – and very much looking forward to moving into our own place. Take care and all the best to you.

    • Hola Liz, This is a very old recipe back from the 80’s. I would make it and give it as a hostess gift when visiting friends. You can also use it on a chicken sandwich to spice it up…Glad that you and Bill are still loving Ecuador. So sad that you had things taken, was that done here? Things are tight all over, we will be adding additional security to our place when we have more work done. You just need to be proactive and get ahead of the crime curve because it is coming. Sad to say but this is not the only country it is happening all over. Be well, Nancy PS what was your old email address so I can update my contacts.

    • Hi Susan, No I have not found the right fruit for that one yet. This worked really great I may not have needed the entire box so the next time I make something that needs Sure-Jell I am going to try just half a box and see how that works. Joe and I did try some even before it was cool and it is very nice…Have not made that recipe for years and years. Yesterday I made apple sauce. just 1/4 c of panela sugar so it should be good for both of us. Talk to you soon, N PS Kisses to Jimmy, How is he feeling?

        • Hey Mary, I got them from the one vendor who comes by the house 5 for $1 and it made two jars enough for us. Wish they had them cheaper and I would make more but honestly I have no room to store them until I get some cabinets in the kitchen. Nancy

Leave a Reply

