Fresh Apple Sauce

San Clemente 8.29b.2013 002While shopping earlier this week I saw a jar of apple sauce and the cost was unbelievable at almost $5. I would have felt like I was robbed paying that much for a quart sized jar.  So when Gonzalo came by a few days ago I paid $2 for 10 good-sized Chilean apples.  They look to be of the Gala variety and are sweet.

So I am making apple sauce.

Simple Apple Sauce

  • 2 lbs of peeled, cored and cubed apples
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (I used Panela)
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 3 slices of lemon peel
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • pinch of salt

Bring apples and other ingredients to a boil, lower heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes depending upon the size of apple cubes. Mash with a potato masher or put in a blender until the desired consistency. (I did neither and it looks great). Pour into clean canning jars and put in a water bath for 10 minutes. Cool away from a breeze. Refrigerate. Enjoy! Next time I may add some fresh strawberries.

San Clemente 8.29b.2013 004

6 thoughts on “Fresh Apple Sauce

  1. looks good, I’ve been craving applesauce. Remember going to the orchards back in the States? In the early fall you could get a bushel of apples for $6.00. I would make a huge batch of applesauce then freeze it in zip lock bags. I would use the rest of the apples and make dried apple rings in the dehydrator. Those could be frozen also, but usually the granddaughters got to them first. Hmmm, wonder if I could find one here, if not, I may just bring ours back when we visit next year.

    • Hi Mary, I would love a dehydrator myself, but for it it would be dried tomatoes, that is my weakness and if you find a jar here it can be as much as $6 for around 6 oz…hard for me to pay that much for one dried out tomato, ha ha

    • Karen, I love that you think my recipes are good enough for a book, but I have a full life and love it just the way it is. Thanks for your kind words, N

Leave a Reply

