Flowering Plants, Trees and Vines to Start Off the New Year!

The beach here has almost no beach at high tide so I walk on the road when the tide is high which is often. My walking routine starts at 6am because once the sun come up I find it too hot for a brisk walk. I have taken these walking opportunities to take some photos of the beautiful flowers around town.

Enjoy!

San Clemente 10.7.2013 012San Clemente 10.7.2013 013San Clemente 10.7.2013 014San Clemente 10.7.2013 018San Clemente 10.31.2013 004San Clemente 9.21.2013 014San Clemente 10.2.2013 007 San Clemente 10.2.2013 008San Clemente 10.7.2013 015 San Clemente 9.11.2013 004 San Clemente 9.11.2013 007 San Clemente 9.11.2013 008 San Clemente 9.11.2013 010 San Clemente 9.11.2013 011 San Clemente 9.11.2013 012 San Clemente 9.11.2013 013 San Clemente 9.11.2013 017 San Clemente 9.11.2013 018 San Clemente 9.11.2013 021 San Clemente 9.11.2013 023 San Clemente 9.11.2013 029 San Clemente 9.21.2013 002 San Clemente 9.21.2013 003 San Clemente 9.21.2013 006 San Clemente 9.21.2013 011

San Clemente 9.21.2013 030 San Clemente 9.21.2013 036 San Clemente 9.21.2013 039 San Clemente 9.21.2013 042 San Clemente 9.21.2013 043Happy New Year, Feliz Año Nuevo to all our family and friends.

24 thoughts on “Flowering Plants, Trees and Vines to Start Off the New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you and Joe. Great pictures. Do you happen to know what this one is, it is beautiful.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Hi Lyndell, Happy New Year to you and Ken. I did not get a picture with your comment. Let me know which photo and I will see if I can find out the name of the tree or flower. Nancy

  2. Beautiful flowers………..Good to see your post as I haven’t seen one from you in awhile. This is the first time I have replied but I have followed your blog for a long time. I was worried you might be very sick or just decided to stop writing. Any way, Happy New Year to You !!!

    • Hi Joe, thanks so much for following the blog and for you kind comment. I am feeling much better and decided the blogging made me much happier than I knew….Best wishes for a healthy and happy 2014. Nancy

    • Janet, thanks so much for your comment. Hope you are not getting to much snow, that was the worse part of living in PA, all the stinken snow…now the spring, summer and fall are wonderful but winter was a bitch for sure…Be well, Happy New Year to you, Nancy and Joe

    • Z, you are so good, I am making a special post just on the cotton plants and the beautiful pods of the ceibo trees…maybe tomorrow that will be my post. I also love the plumerias, I picked one and put it in water and it actually grew roots but it died when I planted in a pot with soil…there must be a secret in planting them, they are so beautiful but not a great deal of leaves just so many beautiful bunches of flowers…Happy New Year to you, N

  3. Happy New! Great to see that your blog is reactivated in 2014. You were missed. I hope to meet you in the coming months when I move to San Jacinto. All the best to you and yours!

      • The goal for the move is early July, i will be visiting January 19th for eight days. Perhaps i can stop by and say ” hola ” ? Reading your blog has been very helpful and inspiring, definitely validating my decision to relocate to Ecuador and selecting the San Jacinto/San Clemente community. Saludos!

        • Hi Marty, Thanks for commenting and great to have you following the blog, but I would hate to have you make a decision to move here based on my blog ramblings. Not everyone can make the transition to this quiet of a town, it is very basic and very little to do both day and night. I hope you do some looking at other towns and areas especially those with better infrastructure while you are here this month. We like it because we like our privacy and keep pretty much to ourselves most of the time. I fell into a bad pattern while in Salinas where I was visited by so many people I had little time for myself and what I like to do, so right now I am going to decline your kind offer to visit with us. Nancy

  4. Welcome back, Nancy. Missed reading your posts. Hope you are feeling better and with the new year, hope each day gets better and better! We hope to finally meet you soon, ‘cuz we are here in San Clemente now. Happy New Year to you and Joe! Kathy and Ken

    • Hi Kathy and Ken, thanks for your comments and continuing to read the blog. We are not starting out the new year very well, Joe just had an issue yesterday afternoon with his lens implant so we are now trying to locate a doctor here in Ecuador who implants Alcon Labs ReStor lenses…we will see if resting his eyes overnight has made a difference…we may have to go to Cuenca to have this surgery done…but I am getting way ahead of myself…enjoy your stay in Clemente, Nancy

  5. Nice pictures. I remember a lot of these flowers from when I was there. How are you and Joe? How is Jim doing? Hope he is doing good. How is Patty and McKenzie doing? Happy New Year!

  6. Beautiful Flowers!!! Thanks for sharing! What are the white things in the 7th picture from the top? I saw cotton further down so I don’t think it was that, it looks like white berries?

    • Hi Tim, the name is muyuyo, the fruit is sticky like glue and I have seen the young kids here use it like a hair gel. It is like a weed, grows big and bushy and if you want to get rid of it you need to remove the entire root cutting it back will not kill it. Yes, the pictures lower down are cotton, I will have a post on this later in the week, Thanks for reading. Happy New Year, Nancy

        • Tim, that is so funny becuase we are always learning something new as well. I really don’t think the older kids put this sticking stuff in their hair but the real young ones who are trying to look like their older brothers have found this a substitue for hair gel…I honestly think you could use it like a white glue but have not attempted doing so. Next time I find some fruit within arms reach I will take a few and try them out…Nancy

Leave a Reply

