Boston Baked Beans

It is hard for me to go into the supermarkets here and spend so much for a can of pork and beans. First I know they are being produced in the US and then shipped all the way to Ecuador so that I can enjoy a can of Bush’s Baked Beans but the cost is so out of line, it’s beans for goodness sake not caviar. So I decided to make my own.

Today’s recipe is Boston Baked Beans. I did not do much planning ahead and I failed to soak the beans overnight so I am attempting the fast process of boiling the beans for several minutes and allowing them to soak in the hot liquid for one hour, I hope that works. But normally you would pick through your beans, wash them thoroughly, fill a container with water and allow to soak overnight before you would begin.

The recipe I am using is a combination of one by Alton Brown

and Hip Pressure Cooking

Of course, I made modifications to suit me.

San Clemente 1.1.2014 001This is what I started with and then I decided to add the following.

San Clemente 1.1.2014 018Boston Baked Beans

  • 1 pound dried Navy beans
  • 1 pound bacon and lardons combined, cut into small pieces
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 habanero pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup panela sugar (both recipes call for molasses which I have never seen for sale here)
  • Vegetable broth to cover the beans (minimum 4 cups)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon whole grain mustard
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1 tablespoon dry pepper mix like Japones and New Mexico peppers
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Cut up the bacon and lardons and add to the pressure pot uncovered set on high heat. Cook until colored and crisp. Add the onions and sauté for just a few minutes to soften, then add your Habanero pepper and tomato sauce. Stir for a few moments to cook the rawness out of the tomato sauce and add the balance of the ingredients including the rinsed and drained presoaked beans. The stock or water should cover the beans by 1 inch.

Lower the heat to a little above medium, secure the lid and place the pressure regulator on its stem. Bring the pressure up and allow to cook for 40 minutes with the pressure regulator rocking slowly, turn off the heat and stop the cooking by putting your pot into a sink with several inches of cold water. You may need to cook a little longer on the stove top a if the bean sauce is not the right consistency. You want a thick sauce.

Well, they are done and delicious, I don’t think I will ever buy a can of beans again especially because it was not difficult or too time consuming. The taste is so much better than what you find in a can. Now if I could learn to can them.

San Clemente 1.1.2014 010

16 thoughts on “Boston Baked Beans

    • Thanks for your comment, my only mistake was first not making two bags of beans and second not soaking them overnight. They were a big hit and I am going to try to can them with the next batch I make. So easy, yet so yummy, N

    • Hi Lyndell, I am going to try that with the next batch, they are easy to make if you remember to soak the beans overnight. I am going to order canning jars and see how shipping them to myself works….re-using jars makes me a little nervous….also canning things that are not vinegar based can be tricky…so I will need to read up on how you can beans. It is a different process than pickles. N

        • Hi Barbara, yes for some things you can just use a water bath but I have read that for other things you need to use a pressure pot…I don’t have a deep enough pot or the jar rack that my Joy of Cooking talks about for quart jars. I do have a pressure pot but really need to speak to someone who has done canning using a pressure pot before I attempt it, could you imagine the top blowing off the pressure pot and baked beans hanging from the walls,,,I can and so I am learning to can step by step. ja ja We are looking at buying a freezer for our spare room, I do freeze things like fresh tomato sauce because of what I read about canning tomatoes this is where my cookbook calls for 10 lbs of pressure, WHAT??? I need to find a Mommy Blogger who cans like crazy and go and pick her brain…have a great Sunday, N

          • If you go to preservingfoodathome.com/tag/baked beans/ they advise a pressure canner and have a link to the US government site that gives very clear instructions. According to the original site he easiest way is to pressure can them … apparently the pressure canner costs between $100 and $200 but lasts forever. Good luck with this.

            Barbara Scott
            Sent from my iPad

            >

            • Barbara, I knew there was a hoopla that I would need to go through, I will never find the pressure canner here, I would need to order from the US..I will look into it, but on a good note, I soaked 2 bags of beans last night so after we have our coffee on the beach, I will come back and make two batches…and give a few unsealed jars away today…yahoo

    • Hi Deb, I soaked 2 bags of beans last night so I am making a big batch today. I did notice one thing, the first batch did not cause any gas issues…just saying normally a big bowl of any beans will cause some minor bubbling, not these but again I do not use any of the soaking liquid, I think my Mom told me to use fresh water so I always have. Be well, N

    • Hi Karen, I do think it is almost molasses, it has a very hardy flavor so to use it for cakes you better be doing something like carrot or pumpkin (squash) as the flavor is pretty prevalent. I made the beans yesterday, two bags of Panamito beans instead of Navy beans and it is wonderful. Glad you are enjoying the recipes…Nancy

Leave a Reply

