Budin (Puerto Rican Bread Pudding)

I had several days of stale rolls that we did not eat this past few days so I thought of making them into bread pudding. I am not really into traditional bread puddings but, so much bread, what to do?

Found a great recipe at: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Budin-Puerto-Rican-Bread-Pudding/Detail.aspx?prop24=hn_slide1_Budin-%28Puerto-Rican-Bread-Pudding%29&evt19=1

It is called Budin which is a Puerto Rican Bread pudding. Unbelievable. It is excellent, I made a few changes, like I always do, adding 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, cut the amount of sugar in the recipe to 3/4 instead of 1 1/2 and it is still very sweet – next time I would only use 1/2 cup – also I did not cut off the crusts, I would be here all day cutting the crusts off rolls.

San Clemente 1.3.2014 001It is nice enough for company and if you really want to be even more decadent pour a bit of cream over it before you serve…oh my goodness!!!

12 thoughts on “Budin (Puerto Rican Bread Pudding)

  1. I want to use up some croissants before I leave for Ecuador … I am going to try it with your changes … recipes always ask for way too much sugar … and I like walnuts.

Leave a Reply

