Italian Anise Cookies

I really love this  – it’s the best of all the cookies that I make – first it is wonderful with a cup of coffee and they can last a good while in a tightly closed container plus if you put some of the batter in the freeze a month later you can have fresh cookies.

Italian Anise Cookie

  • 6 Eggs
  • 1 1/2 C Margarine
  • 1 C regular sugar
  • 3/4 bottle of Anise 1/2 oz. *see note below
  • 8 T Baking Powder
  • 6 C Flour

Dip fingers in oil and roll dough into meat ball sized balls.
Bake ungreased cookie sheet 12-15 minutes 375 – 400 f

Glaze

  • 1/2 bag confectionery sugar
  • add a bit of hot water, start with 1 tablespoon
  • 1/2 bottle of anise flavoring 1/4 oz. or to taste
  • add food color as desired

Mix well

Right after the cookies are baked dip just the tops in glaze – let cool on a wire rack.  Store in an airtight container.

This year I am making a batch with almond flavoring in both the batter and the glaze.  I don’t think kids like the anise flavoring so I am trying something a bit different.

* I have not found anise flavoring on the store shelves here so I have taken star anise and add them to vodka – let stand for a week and strain though a coffee filter or cheese cloth.  This is a good substitute for store-bought anise flavoring.

Let’s put on a pot of coffee and get this party started!

7 thoughts on “Italian Anise Cookies

    • Hi Diane, it is a recipe a dear friend from Florida gave me years ago. I did make two batches one anise and the other almond for the kids. Nancy

    • Hi Mary, I have almond but have never seen rum or maple here, so you must have brought those from home. Thanks for the offer, I am over cookies for a while, you know how that is…

Leave a Reply

