Simple Semifredo Ice Cream

I honestly can’t say that I am obsessed with good food, and I do not consider myself an Uber Gourmet or some other sideways fancy title. I am just a cook who loves good food, good ingredients and experimenting with different cuisines.  Ask Joe if I have made the same thing twice ever and he will tell you, Never!  I started this back right after we were married. Our food budget including personal items, cleaning supplies and all food items for most of our weekly meals and it was a whopping $20 per week.  Yes, this was back in the early 70’s and we managed on that budget along with several nights a week eating out as we were both going to college after our full-time day jobs.  We ate a lot of ground hamburg meat, I made meatballs, meatloaf, meat spaghetti sauces all on Saturday morning and froze them for the next week. Joe’s family had certain meals on the same day every week. That will never happen in our home, I get bored with the same old, same old and have this need to change, improvise and make it different almost every time.  Now there are certain recipes made by my Mom that will always remain the same but for everything else it is fair game for me to change it up!!!

So how does this lead into making Semifredo, well…I at one time had hundreds of cookbooks and love watching cooking shows. I have total series of Julia, Jacque, most of the shows Keith Floyd made, to Gok Wan, Ming Tsai, Jamie and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall to name just a few. My cookbook collections included Southern Livings annuals, Cooking Light annuals, Betty Crocker, Joy of Cooking, Better Homes and Gardens and so many other I honestly cannot name them. These are books and the chefs that have shaped the cook that I am today.

I just watched Better Homes and Gardens Australia and the one presenter was making Semifredo which is a semi hard Italian ice cream.  It looked interesting so I decided to try it for myself.

I found a very easy recipe by Donna Hay:

Donna Hay Basic Semifreddo

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks extra
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (220g) caster (superfine) sugar
  • 2 cups (500ml) single (pouring) cream

METHOD

  1. Place the eggs, extra yolks, vanilla and sugar in a heatproof bowl. Place over a saucepan of simmering water and, using a hand-held electric mixer, beat for 6–8 minutes or until thick and pale. Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly.
  2. Whisk the cream until stiff peaks form. Gently fold through the egg mixture until well combined.
  3. Pour into a 2 litre-capacity metal tin and freeze for 6 hours or overnight. Makes 2 litres.

 This is the base we use in all our semifreddo recipes. You could create your own flavour by folding a range of fruit, spices or syrups through the mixture. Think passionfruit pulp, puréed mango or whole berries such as raspberries or blueberries.

Recipe by Donna Hay.  This is the actual recipe off the internet and Australians spell many words differently that we do in the US.  So don’t comment on the spelling, just try the recipe. It is fabulous.

I made waffles this morning and this was a snack this afternoon.  REALLY SPECIAL.

IMG_2975 We will never be stick thin, I know and accept that fact. Our lives are full, full of peace, happiness, good food, good conversations and a great relationship that has matured and bloomed into a fabulous life.

4 thoughts on “Simple Semifredo Ice Cream

  1. Nan, it was great but no more of this semifredo stuff, let’s do fullfredo – and waiter, bring us those toasted cheese sandwiches you talked me out of. Joe

    • Mary, I laughed when I read that part of the recipe as well, you know there is no super fine sugar here, ja ja What I did was took regular sugar and put it in the blender and blended it for a few second, voila super fine sugar…it actually makes the sugar very fine, it just helps it to melt faster, you could just use regular sugar and that would work just as well…

Leave a Reply

