Avocados – How to Freeze and The “Best-Ever” Smoothie

Avocado 2I recently read an article about freezing avocados that Joe found and sent to me. We love avocado smoothies but never seem to have enough fresh avocados. So freezing them was of particular interest to me.  It is so easy:  Pick ripe ready to use avocados, cut them in half, remove the pit and the skin. Place the flesh in a plastic bag and pop in the freezer..Voila!!! You have ready to use avocados anytime you want them.

Here are the latest ready to go into the freezer. These are large, local variety with almost yellow flesh that you can buy from several local vendors who come to my house. These are pretty big and were 3 for a dollar.

IMG_3009 Now for the best smoothie you will ever have.

IMG_3012Yes, I said avocado smoothie, I know it was hard for me to wrap my brain around making a smoothie from what I consider the vegetable you use for making guacamole or sliced on a chicken sandwich. You will never want a mora, or frutilla or banana smoothie again after tasting this rich and wonderful drink.

Avocado Smoothie

  • one large ripe avocado
  • 8 oz. milk
  • one large glass of ice cubes
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 8 oz. glass of water

Place avocado, sugar, ice and milk into a blender.  Blend on high until avocado and ice are smooth and creamy.  Add the glass of water and blend again on high for a few minutes.

Pour into large glasses and taste the best thing you have ever had in your life.  Really, I mean it, this is the best smoothie I have ever had. Once you have had this avocado smoothie you will never want any other smoothie again.

IMG_3013 My preference is the haas avocado and you can find them, most of the time, in the big supermarkets here like SuperMaxi or Mi Comisariato. They have a very dark green bumpy skin, are smaller than the local ones and have a much smaller pit. It has a little different flavor and the color is much greener flesh than the local avocados…but when in Rome do as the Romans do, so we use what we can get.

AVOCADO-hass-300x250avocadoinfoHonestly, I don’t drink avocado smoothies for any of the above reasons, I drink them because they taste so darn good!

 

6 thoughts on “Avocados – How to Freeze and The “Best-Ever” Smoothie

    • Oh Kristen, they are super yummy and kind of good for you if you just use a bit of white sugar….really wonderful, let me know what you think,,aunt n

Leave a Reply

