Look what I found – Canning Jars

“It is possible to be happy withough having perfect health . . .
Thank goodness my happiness doesn’t come from my joints, but from my
heart.”

                                                                                                                                                                        -Beverly LaHaye

While waiting on my bike to be put together this past week, Joe and I had a wonderful lunch of Encebollado for $1.25 each and then walked around the area. One lovely little store had some very nice glass items in the window which I wanted to look at. While there I found these beauties:

San Clemente 12.14.2012 026

Yes, they are quart sized canning jars, $2.99 each. I wanted eight but she only had three in stock, take what you can get that is my motto.

Now to do some pickling.

11 thoughts on “Look what I found – Canning Jars

  1. What a treasure! They are nearly impossible to find here, too. Every trip we take back to the states, I try to pick up a few more canning jars. I have a favorite second hand store on the mainland and I never know what treasures I’m going to find. Last week, I found a carton of small canning jars and a bathroom scale. I was ecstatic.

    • Oh Deb, what I would give to have a second hand store here! Joe and I have decided to go back into Portoviejo to centro and just walk around, but it is starting to get very hot here so it may have to wait until May…do I sound like an old fart or what? Nancy

  2. It is so special to hear how excited you are! I thought I was the only one that got so excited over simple things. I have a couple of dozen of jars just sitting on my self not doing a thing. If I knew how to mail them to you (with out breaking) I would get them right to you. Let me know. What a great find. Hope you can make a short trip soon. Enjoy the nice weather there. I am still in Fl. and one day is steaming hot and the next day has a chill in the air. How is the bike ride?

    • Karen, shipping things here is not easy, that is why when folks are coming to visit I ask if they have a few inches of space in their luggage to bring those items that are impossible to get here. I love the bike but have not had time the past two days to take it out, I am trying to make my Christmas cookies…N

  3. Hey Super Sweet Blogger! I really enjoy your blog, and wanted to pass this award along to you. Your notification is here, and you can also retrieve the award graphic here so you can place it on your blog. http://thepanamaadventure.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/super-sweet/

    Here are the rules:

    1. The nominees have to thank the person that nominated them.

    2.Nominate a bakers dozen of other Super Sweet Bloggers and let them know.

    3. Answer these easy questions:
    Cookies or cake:
    Chocolate or Vanilla:
    What is your favourite sweet treat?
    When do you crave sweet things the most? When
    If you had a sweet nickname what would it be?

    Thanks, and have fun passing this along!

    • Kristc99, thank you so much for this honor. I just hope our blog has helped a few folks with questions they have about moving to Ecuador. Have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Nancy & Joe

  4. hmmm. you and the mcdonalds have been quiet this week. i suspect you’ve had internet problems.

    it seems that one day we’ve lost power.. the next day we have power but the internet is down. today we’ve had both, but i feel this is a dress rehearsal for what’s to come in the rainy season!

    i try to remind myself if this is as bad as my day gets, i’m lucky. still, you must be frustrated if you’ve been w/o internet for almost a week.

    i look forward to your next posts!
    z

  5. Nancy, I saw your blog while doing a search for canning jars in Ecuador. I live in Cuenca and have been using the Snob jelly jars for canning. I saw your jars with the gold lids and have been able to buy a few of those here n Cuenca but they are expensive. Curious if you have found a source for jars and lids where you are?

    Thanks Eric

    • Hi Eric, No I have not found a place to get a case of jars, right now I buy a few each time I go into Total Hogar but at almost $5 each that gets very pricy. I hear that Coral sometimes has jars, but we do not have a Coral store near us. I use any jar I can get my hands on Snob jars are great, but am very cautious and keep everything I make in the refrigerator. Sad the frig is just not big enough, ja ja Nancy

Leave a Reply

