Making Whole Grain Mustard

I received both yellow and brown mustard seeds from a blog friend and decided to make some beautiful fresh mustard.

San Clemente 3.27.2013 006

Whole Grain Mustard

  • 1/4 cup brown mustard seeds
  • 1/4 cup yellow mustard seeds
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup white wine vinegar (I used regular Heinz vinegar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt or sal de mar
  • 1 teaspoon light brown sugar or honey (optional)
  • you may want to add one of the following: 1 t dry tarragon leaves, 1/4 t allspice, a cinnamon stick, 1/8 t red pepper flakes or 1/4 t caraway seeds for flavoring

Put mustard seeds, wine and wine vinegar in a small bowl. Cover and let soak at room temperature for two days

Add mustard seeds and liquid to a blender, hold back 2 tablespoons of the seeds. Add salt, sugar and other flavoring blend until mustard is a thick consistency. Add the whole mustards seeds and put in clean jars and allow to sit in the refrigerator for two days before use.

San Clemente 3.27.2013 001

San Clemente 3.27.2013 003Two beautiful jars of whole grain mustard. I took a taste – it won’t take much to add a great deal of zest to a sandwich or, better yet, sausage. One jar is already being given as a gift to our friends Eva and Fred. I know they will get a “kick” out of it.

12 thoughts on “Making Whole Grain Mustard

    • Kris, I enjoy so many different things, baking, canning, just to keep busy. Maybe this afternoon I will try my hand at Guava jelly, I have about seven ripe guavas, all I need is a recipe and I should get at least two jars of jelly…just enough for one to keep and one to share. Always something new to try my hand at…Nancy

  1. Looks good and sounds great. That is on the “must try list”. Nancy I enjoy your blog and recipes so much. Happy Easter!

    • Karen, it is amazing just how spicy mustard seeds in vinegar are…I could not wait the two days and served it with a hotdog on Wednesday evening..pretty good if I must say so myself…now I will need more seeds from the next folks visiting…I need to add it back to my wish list for sure.
      Happy Easter to you as well, N

  2. Well, Yes, I love the new layout! You and Joe are fantastic people. We had the best time in SC and hope to have many more. Thanks for sharing your little corner of paradise. We will catch a bus to Cuenca in the morning and we are just glad to be out of that darned car.
    Love, Doug & Jac

    • Doug, Jac, Harold and Barbara, We loved meeting you all as well. I am so happy you made it to Guayaquil and got to turn in your car. Enjoy the rest of your trip and keep in touch letting us know how you liked the areas around Loja. I should have a post with pictures of your visit on the blog this afternoon…Be well and thanks again for making the special trip up the coast to visit us, we loved meeting you all. Blessings and Happy Easter, Nancy & Joe

    • John and Mary, it is pretty darn spicy, never knew that mustard seeds packed such a punch…would be wonderful if I could get my hands on a kielbasa sausage…thanks N

Leave a Reply

