Coconut Cream Pie – Yum!

Saw a great photo on Facebook one day last week. The pie looked so good I just had to attempt it. Recipe below.

IMG_2330IMG_2331IMG_2335Coconut Cream Pie

FILLING

  • 4 T white sugar
  • 5 T flour (sifted)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 C milk
  • 3 lg egg yolks (slightly beaten – set the whites aside for the meringue)
  • 1 C shredded coconut (used dessicated coconut which does not contain additional sugar)
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 t coconut extract

Combine sugar, flour and salt in a double boiler. Add milk, and egg yolks. Cook in double boiler until filling is thick approximately 10 minutes. Stir in coconut, vanilla and coconut extract.  Set aside to cool.

CRUST

  • 1 1/2 C cookie crumbs (I used coco cookies)
  • 4 T butter melted
  • 1 whole egg
  • 4 T white sugar

Mix melted butter, egg and sugar into the cookie crumbs. Press into the bottom of a pie pan, push up the sides. Bake in a 350 degree F oven for 10-20 minutes. You want the crust to be pretty hard when you bring it out. Set aside to cool.

MERINGUE

  • 3 egg whites
  • 4 T white sugar
  • 1/4 C dessicated coconut

Place egg whites in a clean dry bowl, beat with a hand mixer until soft peak stage, add one tablespoon of sugar at a time and beat until well incorporated.

After the crust is cool, pour filling into crust, top with meringue and put under the broiler for just a few minutes to brown lightly.  Keep a close eye on it, as you can see I did get it a bit too brown….but it still was darn good. Enjoy!

 

9 thoughts on “Coconut Cream Pie – Yum!

    • Joyce, it was a bit sweet for us. I will adjust the recipe some when I make it again. The coconut cookie crust was a big hit with Joe. Nancy

  1. Do you use locally produced coconut? Here in Panama the street vendors will sell the coconut milk as a drink. They punch a hole in the eye. and insert a straw. They keep the coconuts iced down in an igloo cooler. They use to charge 35 cents. Now it is 50 cents. On a rare occasion the customer will ask the vendor cut open the coconut so they can eat the meat

    I gave my cleaning lady the nickname of Pipa. I had a coconut at the house. She told me it was called a pipa. I said no, you are pipa. The nickname stuck. She will put her hand on her waist, stomp her foot and then say I am not pipa. I know she likes for me to kid her because she will go to the neighbors and tell them I gave her the nickname.

    • Good Morning, Old Timer. Our local mercado sells a bag of about 5 coconut meats for $1. He opens the coconut and drains out the coconut water, they do not call it pipa here. Just agua the coco. This pie was made with unsweetened coconut that is dry from the store. Our local mercado is only open on Sunday mornings. Keep well thanks for the comment. Nancy

    • Mary, it was a bit too sweet for me so I need to adjust for the next one. The coconut cookie crust worked out nice. I will need to try your recipe next, but I must confess this is my first pie in years and years, Nancy

Leave a Reply

