The Stinging Sun

This past week two things happened to make me wake up to how hot and how strong the sun is this time of year. I fell asleep in the hammock one day last week and woke up to a stinging pain on my face below my right eye. I thought I had gotten a bite and asked Joe to see if he could find where the actually bite mark was and maybe put one of his ointments on it for me. He could not find the mark and within a few hours it was red and burned like heck. It took me several days to figure out what I had done, in the meantime it looked as if I was hit in the face under the right eye. Then I noticed a few stripes on my forehead, that were actually sun burn marks. I am fastidious about keeping the sun off my face after moving to Florida back in the 70’s and seeing the faces of the old women on Miami Beach after years of sun abuse.  I use a face cream with a 15 SPF every day and always wear a hat when I am outside and 50 or 60 sunblock when we sit on the beach. The sun has shifted in the sky and the corner of our hammock obviously is getting the full force of that sun in the afternoon. The second thing that made me very aware of just how hot the sun is this time of year is when Joe and I walked down the beach to catch the bus to San Jacinto last Friday morning. I was wearing a sleeveless blouse and when I got home my shoulders, arms, chest and back were a bright red from that short walk up and down the beach.  DO NOT underestimate the sun here, it is very strong and March seems to be the worst time of the year.

San Clemente 3.22.2013 004

We normally use 50 block while on the beach but during this time of year I have started to wear it every day along with a healthy dose of Detan for the mosquitoes. If visiting or living here on the coast please do yourself a favor and wear sunblock and repellent every day.

The weather has been beautiful and I do not want to complain but am very excited about the cooler weather right around the corner.

15 thoughts on “The Stinging Sun

    • Thanks Z, I cannot believe that I allowed my face to sunburn, bad Nancy!!! I was getting tired of the old format I was using and needed something different so this is what I came up with. N

        • HI Z, I need to be a bit more diligent in how I walk around in the yard, I was a little lackadaisical in my attitude and after that burn I have a greater respect for the sun here this time of year. I also like the new format, enjoy your time with your friend Barb, be well, N

  1. Nancy do you remember the afterburner I gave you last year? If you have any left use that for any sunburn you may get. That is what it was made for. But it is good for wind burns.all bug bites. Shake, spray and relax. Nice glass! Take care!

    • Hi Karen, that is the first thing I put on when I finally realized it was a sunburn…it sooth it but this burn was bad, because my face is so sensitive…it still burned even with Afterburner on it…The new format is just one of the many WordPress offer, I have been trying to figure out what the heck is in the glass myself, looks sort of like seaweed floating around…have a great day, Nancy & Joe

    • Deb, I will not be caught twice by the sun this time of year, I am now putting on sunblock and repellent right after my shower…Thanks for your kind comment about the new look, I needed a change. N

    • Mary and John, I know it was a stupid mistake but hopefully that will be the one and only time it gets me…Nancy

  2. Yep, I got some sunburn from standing in a store parking lot chatting with friends, and most of that in the shade! It’s interesting to see how conscious the Panamanians are of the dangers of too much sun. I don’t know if they use sunblock but they sure try to minimize their exposure. I’m sure we should be doubly concerned with our white skin that burns even more quickly.

    • Hey Kris, when we lived in Dolega all the women would give me a good talking to if I did not have a umbrella with me. They all wore long sleeved cotton jackets and carried umbrellas even after the sun had gone down…I on occasion have walked here with an umbrella and have gotten some very strange looks. When In Rome!!! Nancy

      • Yep, we see umbrellas a lot. Interesting they don’t do that in your area too. I haven’t been lectured for lack of umbrella though, but I generally don’t go out until the sun is lower in the sky.

  3. I have lived and worked all over northern Canada and am immune to the mosquitoes here but was hugely attractive to the mosquitoes of coastal Ecuador. The repellent that we bought there was very effective. Needless to say the equatorial sun in mMarch was way stronger than anything I experience in the Arctic – sunscreen and a hat are essential.

    • Hi Mike, the sun during March was unbelievable, we have lived on the coast for 3 years now but the other places were just not as sunny during this time of year so we never go burned, San Clemente, this year had more sun so hats, sunscreen, even an umbrella would be a good idea. I love Detan for the mosquitoes. Nancy

Leave a Reply

